Committee of Recommendation

The NICC Foundation can look forward to the support of more and more supporters. This has led to the establishment of a Committee of Recommendation, the members of which have indicated that they are committed to the NICC foundation and, if necessary, to support the NICC foundation. Members are: Marc Dierkx, Ton Dietz, Marene Elgershuizen, Sjef Ernes, Loek Hermans, Ron Keller, Bram van Ojik, Henk Ovink, Sybe Schaap, Marja Spierenburg and Andy Wehkamp. The board still strives for more diversity in the composition of this committee.

(in order of first name)

Andy Wehkamp

Andy Wehkamp, cultural anthropologist, started her career in 1984 at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. From 1986 to 1996 she held various policy and management positions in Oxfam / Novib.

Bram van Ojik

After studying development economics in Amsterdam, Bram van Ojik started his career as a policy officer at Oxfam/Novib and then became a Member of the Second Chamber of Parliament on behalf of GroenLinks (1993-1994).

Henk Ovink

In addition to being a Dutch special envoy to the United Nations, Henk Ovink is also a flood expert. In 2015 he was appointed the first water ambassador of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

Loek Hermans

Loek Hermans was Member of the First Chamber of the parlement for the VVD from 2007 to 2015. As of 2011, he was parliamentary party leader and in 2011 and 2015 he was a list leader in the elections to the Senate.

Marc Dierikx

Senior Researcher at KNAW – Koninklijke Nederlandse Akademie van Wetenschappen. Responsible for the publication of an online source edition on the foreign policy of the Netherlands towards European Integration, 1950-1986.

Marja Spierenburg

Marja Spierenburg

Marja Spierenburg is a professor at Leiden University, with the teaching mandate “the Anthropology of Sustainability and Livelihoods”. She previously worked at Radboud University in Nijmegen as a professor of development studies.

Marene Elgershuizen

Marene Elgershuizen is a historian. She studied History and International Relations at the University of Groningen. She is currently researching women’s parliamentary strategies and their influence on Dutch political culture.

Ron Keller

Ron Keller (1958), economist, was an ambassador for the Netherlands in Ukraine, Russia, Turkey and China. Before that he was Director-General for International Cooperation (DGIS) for five years at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Siri Lijfering

Siri Lijfering is a cultural anthropologist and works as a Knowledge Broker at the intersection of science, practice and policy on inclusive, sustainable development and ‘shifting the power’ in development cooperation.

Sjef Ernes

Sjef Ernes, mechanical engineer, water professional with national (utility-industry) and international (expat) experience and for 16 years (2003-2019) CEO of Aqua for all, now founder of WickedWater, a supporting platform for scaling social entrepreneurs.

Sybe Schaap

Sybe Schaap grew up in the Noordoostpolder on a crop farm and now lives in Emmeloord. He started his studies at the Higher Agricultural School, MO Economics, and later obtained the degree of Doctor of Social Sciences (Wetenschappen) and was promoted to Doctor of Social Sciences (Filosofie), which enabled him to obtain a habilitation in Prague.

Ton Dietz

Ton Dietz is emeritus professor at Leiden University and former director of the Africa Study Centre in Leiden.